Back To School

Published October 6, 2012 by goshgurl95

Well it was finally the end of my weeks recovery meaning it really was time for me to be heading back to school today which I was excited but nervous about how everyone would react seeing as I had now been away for 2 whole weeks ,I knew things would be different when I went back into school as I wouldn’t be going out for play time at break or lunch and instead I would have to spend it sitting in the reception as there was a risk of me being knocked either in the ribs during play or one of the balls being thrown to hard and hitting my ear etc and things would also be different as I wouldn’t be joining in PE for at least 3 months which was pretty much the rest of the time we had remaining at junior school .So it wasn’t as though I was going to be going back to school and everything was going to be normal or as it was before I left because to think that would just be silly as I knew it wasn’t but I hoped things would still go well and be alright for me .I also hoped that i’d be able to settle back in again and I suppose in a way pretend and act like nothing had happened even though it had if that makes sense ?

Things actually went really well and it wasn’t really anything to worry about I was taken in through the reception so that I could avoid the crowds in the playground of children all trying to get through one door at once which made things easier (plus meant I got to class earlier than the others which they  couldn’t figure out how ) and to be honest my class didn’t really treat me any different from what they had when I first  left to go  into hospital 2 weeks ago which was a great start obviously my friends in the class such as Daniel knew why I had been away and so did my teacher who said how it was nice to have me back which was quite sweet of him to say

I had obviously missed a fair bit of work whilst I had been off so had a lot of catching up to do in lessons which wasn’t too bad to be fair but however something which did upset me a bit was that fact every year the year 6’s do a levers play that everyone in the year group has to take part in but sadly due to me being off I missed out on getting my part but luckily all was quickly resolved as Mrs Murphy our class LSA said that I could prompt people if they forgot their lines or something so I would be on hand to whisper it or shout it whatever round the corner so they remembered what they were meant to be doing and when it was the group songs I’d have to take part and Mrs Murphy would do the prompting which all sounded great and I was told I would be given everyone’s scripts on the day which was all fine by me

Over the next few weeks I did start getting bored sitting in reception on my own for all break and lunch although I was told a friend could sit with me but they never really wanted to sit in reception with me for all of break and lunch let alone just one of them if I was lucky someone might come and sit with me for about five minutes or so then go off to play in the playground with everyone else so it did get a bit lonely really of a break and lunch hmm sounds familiar from one of my previous blogs

As the last weeks of year 6 quickly came around we were sitting out SATS exams so that our secondary school could know what levels we were at and so on also in the UK this seems to for some reason be a tradition but everyone signs your school shirt with messages etc really we were supposed to take a spare in to change into once everyone had written on your shirt but the school didn’t want me to do this as they were worried about me knocking my ear or my ribs so I was allowed to keep my signed shirt on for the day which was pretty cool 🙂  we also did weird little things such as putting tents up in groups :S and our leavers play had finally arrived which we had to perform to our parents and anyone in the community who decided to come and watch .We all had to gather in one of the class rooms and wait until we were called to stage so I explained how I was supposed to be prompting and I was told someone would come and get me when they needed me but no one did so the only part I ended up playing was just singing all of the whole year songs that we had to do which i wish I had have been able to have taken a part whether it was just a small one but oh well life goes on .Also near to the end of year 6 this is always a weeks residential trip where you go away for the week with the year group and do various activities but I opted out of going as I didn’t have many friends now and I didn’t like the idea of going and the possibility of getting bullied whilst I was away and also it just really didn’t appeal to me personally so that meant I had to go to school for that week with hardly any of our year group being in which sucked a bit but hey I was the one who decided not to go

Leave a comment